Neal Chin
Ukulele Performer and Teacher Neal Chin

We’re excited to announce a new live workshop for UU+ members. We’re bringing in Hawaii born, Seattle based ukulele teacher Neal Chin to help you learn more about getting feeling and emotion out of your playing. Neal has been on our radar for a while and we’re super excited to bring him into UU+ for a live streamed workshop to share his knowledge and methods with you all!

Neal will be in UU+ LIVE Wednesday, Sept 13 at 10am HST (1pm PDT) presenting his workshop on 'How to Make a Song BIG!’

Learn techniques and elements on how to make a song sound "big" on the 'ukulele. Dynamics, harmonization, and most importantly tension and release will be covered utilizing various right-hand and left-hand techniques. Basic chords, strumming, and picking will help you get the most out of this class. Come and join us to add more elements to your 'ukulele jam sessions!

If you want to tune into this workshop, just log in to UU+ and go to the live classroom page on Wednesday at 10am HST.

Here’s a list of timezones for you:

Sept 13 2017:
Hawaii: 10 am
L.A. (PDT): 1pm
New York(EDT): 4pm
London (BST): 9pm
Sydney AU (Sept 14): 6am

You can also use this time zone calculator to figure out what time to tune in:
https://www.worldtimebuddy.com/

If you miss the live stream, we’ll be uploading it to the site the next day.

A bit more about Neal

Award winning artist and Maui, HI native Neal Chin, has been both an ‘ukulele educator and performer over the course of his musical career of 17 years. His clear and direct enthusiasm for music has come to life in countless workshops, concerts, and private instruction. While his heart is in jazz, Neal has played with many musicians of different genres including Hawaiian, folk, rock, and hip-hop. His contribution to the collective The Akira Project won his first Nā Hōkū Hanohano Award in 2014 before moving up to the Pacific Northwest. Since then he was nominated for the 2017 Nā Hōkū Hanohano Award for ‘Ukulele Album of the Year with his album ‘Ukulele Paintings, started his own ‘ukulele practice in the Pacific Northwest, and has released his sophomore ‘ukulele album The Spotless Mind. Neal currently lives, teaches, and performs in Seattle, WA.

Hope to see you there!

Comments

  1. Great you got Neal on board. Years ago I had a lession with him in PuaPua at Waikiki. Very good experience.
    I’m looking forward learning from him again.
    Aloha from Basel Switzerland
    Ingeborg
    Ps. Thank you for the time list

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *