Got a question about Relative Majors? Post it HERE!

Hey UUers!

So, you know your Major Scales on your ukulele like the back of your hand and can solo over major chord progressions like nobody’s business. But what happens when someone starts playing in a minor key?? Do you hide behind the mic stand? Pretend you need to go to the bathroom? NO!

In this week’s episode of Uke Minutes, Aldrine shows you how to use your knowledge of major scales to play in minor keys with Related Major Substitutions!

Here’s how:
1. Take the minor key that you are playing in (for example, Em)
2. Raise the root note up a step-and-a-half (E –> G).
3. Use that major scale to create your solos, but start and end on the root note of the original key (Use a G scale to solo, but start and end on E).

Don’t believe us? Try it out for yourself!

*For more info and instruction on how to create solos in major scales, check out our newest DVD Release “Ukulele Solos: Techniques & Improvization” in the UU Store!

ALSO – This week Thursday (Oct. 29th), we’re holding an official UU Internet Open Mic at 3pm HST (6pm PST, 9pm EST) right here on the UU front page! Come by and cheer on your fellow UUers and uke players & if you’d like to perform, be sure to sign up HERE!

Hope you have an awesome Saturday!

Aloha,

-UU Staff